Extrusion: A panoramic view

The term extrusion defines a shaping process used in the plastics and food industries. In the extrusion process, the material is pressed out of a die under high pressure and usually at high temperature. This produces a strand of any length that can be further processed into an end product. Depending on the intensity of the pressure in the extruder, a distinction is made between piston and screw extruders.

Which significance does extrusion have in the industry?

In the plastics processing industry, extrusion with the extruder is now one of the most widely used processes of all. The decisive reason for this is, among other things, high efficiency in the series production of plastic parts. In the food industry, the extrusion process is an efficient method for mass production of food products with a uniform texture. It is also suitable for brittle and soft material.
Back to the overview

Extrusionsverfahren im Labormaßstab

What extrusion processes are there?

Extrusion technologies enable the production of different end products, such as films, car parts and pasta. Depending on the material used, the desired end product, pressure generation, temperature and shear forces, a distinction is therefore made between different extrusion processes. As a rule, the temperature during the extrusion process is 60 to 300°C and the pressure is 10 to 700 bar. The following processes are available:

Back to the overview

What kind of plastics can be processed by extrusion?

Granules or powders of plastic are melted (plasticized) during extrusion. Depending on the application, cooling of a plasticized plastic can also take place via a cooling fan or cooling channel with cooling medium, e.g. water. Some plastics also require additional equipment, such as a fume hood for pumping out gases produced during processing. These materials can be processed during the extrusion of plastic:

  • Clay
  • Ceramic masses
  • Rubber
  • Aluminum
  • Thermoplastic polymers such as: Polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyethylene (PE), polyurethane (PUR), polypropylene (PP), polycarbonate (PC), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyamide (PA)
  • Thermoplastic compounds made from lignin or corn starch
  • Biomaterials such as wood-plastic composite (WPC), polylactic acid (PLA), polyhydroxybutyric acid (PHB), cellulose acetate (CA)

Back to the overview

Plastics extrusion
Via plastics extrusion numerous products such as sheets, pipes and films can be manufactured in any shape and length

What are the applications in extrusion for plastics?

Via plastics extrusion, numerous products such as sheets, pipes and films can be manufactured in any shape and length. Therefore, many industries use extrusion products. These include in particular the medical technology and automotive industries, but also the furniture, packaging, construction and aerospace industries. Profile extrusion is also widespread. These products are among the most extruded items:

  • Tubes and rods
  • Man-made fibers
  • Door seals
  • Sheathings

Back to the overview

Laboratory extrusion: extruders & applications plastics info

food extrusion
food extrusion

What are the food applications of extrusion?

In food extrusion, crushed raw materials such as coarse flour are used and, depending on the target product, mixed with, for example, fats, colorants, sugar, meat and water. With the aid of steam, this mixture is cooked and passed through the extruder, in which one or two rotating screws force the materials through a die. Via food extrusion, these products can be manufactured:

Back to the overview

Multi strand die
Multi strand die

Which extrusion tooling is available ?

For the production of cables, hoses, pipes and films, extrusion dies with known standards or individually tailored to the customer, are required. In extruders with blown film lines for film production, spiral mandrel dies are found. So-called quill dies are used in the production of cable sheathing or hose production because, unlike the mandrel die, the quill die can be passed through something, such as wire.
Back to the overview

Extrusionline with Stand-Alone Extruder KE 30, OCS, Film-Testing-Device
Extrusionline with Stand-Alone Extruder KE 30, OCS, Film-Testing-Device

Which components make up extrusion lines?

Extrusion lines refer to the machinery required for the production process, which are arranged one behind the other along a single axis. Components of such an extrusion line are the extruder, calibrating table, haul-off, the cutting unit and the collecting table. The calibration table prevents the deformation of extruded material and the haul-off is necessary for the transport of the material, which is shortened by a cutting unit.
Back to the overview

Extruder peripherals for your extrusion line

Processing die heads
Processing die heads

Which extrusion dies are available for specific purposes?

Depending on the requirements and specifications, different extrusion dies are needed, because the die in extrusion is used to shape the end product. A so-called wide slot die is suitable for the production of films, sheets or tapes. Single-channel dies can be used together with a coex feedblock for multilayer products, such as paper coated with thermoplastics, cast and stretch films, and any type of film or sheet.
Back to the overview

Extrusion dies for various applications:

Contact us now

Extrusion: Ein Rundumblick

Der Begriff Extrusion bezeichnet ein formgebendes Verfahren, das in der Kunststoff- und Lebensmittelbranche zum Einsatz kommt. Bei diesem Verfahren wird im Extruder das Material unter hohem Druck und meist hoher Temperatur aus einer Düse gedrückt. Dabei entsteht ein beliebig langer Strang, der zu einem Endprodukt weiterverarbeitet werden kann. Je nach der Intensität des Drucks im Extruder unterscheidet man zwischen Kolben- und Schneckenextruder.

Welchen Stellenwert hat Extrusion in der Industrie?

In der kunststoffverarbeitenden Industrie gehört die Extrusion mit dem Extruder mittlerweile zu den meist angewandten Verfahren überhaupt. Ausschlaggebender Grund dafür ist unter anderem eine hohe Effizienz in den Serienproduktionen von Kunststoffteilen. In der Lebensmittelindustrie ist das Extrusionsverfahren eine effiziente Methode für die Massenproduktion von Lebensmitteln mit einer gleichmäßigen Beschaffenheit. Sie eignet sich auch für sprödes und weiches Material.
Zurück zur Übersicht

Extrusionsverfahren im Labormaßstab

Welche Extrusionsverfahren gibt es?

Die Extrusionstechnik ermöglicht die Herstellung unterschiedlicher Endprodukte, wie Folien, Autoteile und Teigwaren. Je nach verwendetem Material, gewünschtem Endprodukt, Druckerzeugung, Temperatur sowie Scherkräften, unterscheidet man daher zwischen verschiedenen Extrusionsverfahren. In der Regel beträgt die Temperatur beim Extrusionsvorgang 60 bis 300°C und der Druck liegt bei 10 bis 700 bar. Folgende Verfahren gibt es:

Zurück zur Übersicht

Welche Art von Kunststoff kann mittels Extrusion verarbeitet werden?

Granulate oder Pulver aus Kunststoff werden bei der Extrusion aufgeschmolzen (plastifiziert). Je nach Anwendung kann auch das Kühlen eines plastifizierten Kunststoffes über ein Kühlgebläse oder Kühlkanal mit Kühlmedium, z. B. Wasser, erfolgen. Einige Kunststoffe erfordern zudem eine Zusatzausrüstung, wie einen Abzug für das Abpumpen von entstehenden Gasen bei der Verarbeitung. Diese Materialien können bei der Extrusion von Kunststoff verarbeitet werden:

  • Ton
  • Keramische Massen
  • Kautschuk
  • Gummi
  • Aluminium
  • Thermoplastische Polymere wie:  Polyvinylchlorid (PVC), Polyethylen (PE), Polyurethan (PUR), Polypropylen (PP), Polycarbonat (PC), Polyethylenterephthalat (PET), Polyamid (PA)
  • Thermoplastische Massen aus Lignin oder Maisstärke
  • Biowerkstoffe wie Wood-Plastic-Composite (WPC), Polymilchsäure (PLA), Polyhydroxybuttersäure (PHB), Celluloseacetat (CA)

Zurück zur Übersicht

Extrusion unterschiedlichster Sorten von Kunststoff
Extrusion unterschiedlichster Sorten von Kunststoff

Welche Anwendungen gibt es in der Extrusion für Kunststoff?

Über die Kunststoffextrusion lassen sich zahlreiche Produkte wie Platten, Rohre und Folien in beliebiger Form und Länge herstellen. Deshalb nutzen viele Branchen Extrusionsprodukte. Dazu gehören besonders die Medizintechnik und Automobilindustrie, aber auch die Möbel-, Verpackungs-, Bau- sowie Luftfahrtindustrie. Verbreitet ist auch die Profilextrusion. Diese Produkte gehören zu den meist extrudierten Gegenständen:

  • Rohre und Stäbe
  • Chemiefasern
  • Türdichtungen
  • Ummantelungen

Zurück zur Übersicht

Kunststoffextrusion: Extruder & Anwendungen

Gummi-Extrusion
Gummi-Extrusion: Entwickeln & optimieren Sie flexibel Materialien auf Basis von Gummi & Kautschuk

Gummi-Extrusion

Der Einschneckenextruder 19/10 DW für Anwendungen im Bereich Gummi & Kautschuk.

Lebensmitteiextrusion
Lebensmitteiextrusion

Welche Einsatzfelder bietet die Extrusion für Lebensmittel

Bei der Lebensmittelextrusion werden zerkleinerte Rohstoffe wie grobes Mehl verwendet und je nach Zielprodukt z. B. mit Fetten, Farbstoffen, Zucker, Fleisch und Wasser vermischt. Mithilfe von Dampf wird diese Mischung gekocht und durch den Extruder geleitet, in dem eine oder zwei rotierende Schnecken die Stoffe durch eine Düse drücken. Über die Extrusion von Lebensmitteln lassen sich diese Produkte herstellen:

  • Teigwaren wie Nudeln
  • Kartoffelsnacks
  • Textured Vegetable Proteine (z. B. Texturiertes Soja, Fleischersatz)
  • Tiernahrung für Hunde, Katzen, Fische (Kibbles)
  • Kaugummi und Kaubonbons
  • Knusperbrot
  • Erdnussflips
  • Manche Frühstückscerialien
  • Reiscrispies
  • Schokoflocken
  • Karamell

Zurück zur Übersicht

Folienblaskopf
Folienblasköpfe zur Folienextrusion sind in zwei Ausführungen erhältlich: Als Wendelverteiler sowie als Pinole mit leicht auswechselbaren Einsätzen.

Welche Extrusionswerkzeuge gibt es ?

Für die Herstellung von Kabeln, Schläuchen, Rohren und Folien werden Extrusionswerkzeuge mit bekannten Standards oder individuell zugeschnitten auf den Kunden, benötigt. Bei Extrudern mit Blasfolienanlagen zur Folienherstellung findet man Wendelverteilerwerkzeuge. Sogenannte Pinolenwerkzeuge kommen bei der Produktion von Kabelummantelungen oder der Schlauchherstellung zum Einsatz, da im Gegensatz zum Stegdornwerkzeug, das Pinolenwerkzeug durch etwas hindurchgeführt werden kann, wie z. B. Draht.
Zurück zur Übersicht

Extrusionslinie mit Tischantrieb MetaStation 4E
Extrusionslinie mit Tischantrieb MetaStation 4E

Aus welchen Komponenten besteht eine Extrusionslinie?

Unter Extrusionslinien versteht man bei einer Extrusion die für den Fertigungsablauf benötigten Maschinen, die in einer Achse hintereinanderstehen. Bestandteile einer solchen Extrusionslinie sind der Extruder, Kalibriertisch, Abzug, die Schneideanlage und der Sammeltisch. Der Kalibriertisch verhindert das Verformen von extrudiertem Material und der Abzug ist für den Transport des Materials notwendig, das durch eine Schneideanlage gekürzt wird.
Zurück zur Übersicht

Extruderperipherie für Ihre Extrusionslinie

Verarbeitungsdüsenköpfe
Verarbeitungsdüsenköpfe

Welche Extrusionsdüsen gibt es für welchen Zweck?

Je nach Anforderungen und Spezifikationen werden verschiedene Extrusionsdüsen benötigt, denn die Düse bei der Extrusion dient der Formgebung des Endprodukts. Für die Herstellung von Folien, Platten oder Bändchen eignet sich eine sogenannte Breitschlitzdüse. Einkanaldüsen können zusammen mit einem Coex-Feedblock für mehrlagige Produkte, wie mit Thermoplasten beschichtetes Papier, Gieß- und Reckfolien sowie jeder Art von Folien oder Platten genutzt werden.
Zurück zur Übersicht

Extrusionsdüsen für jeden Einsatzbereich:

Jetzt Kontakt aufnehmen